Federal Territory Day

The first of February is always marked as Federal Territory Day in Kuala Lumpur, Putrajaya, and Labuan. On Federal Territory Day, people remember the day in 1974 when Kuala Lumpur came under federal administration.

Federal Territory Day in 2024, 2025, and 2026:

20241 FebThursdayFederal Territory DayKuala Lumpur, Labuan & Putrajaya
20251 FebSaturdayFederal Territory DayKuala Lumpur, Labuan & Putrajaya
20261 FebSundayFederal Territory DayKuala Lumpur, Labuan & Putrajaya
2 FebMondayFederal Territory Day HolidayKuala Lumpur, Labuan & Putrajaya

These dates are estimated. We will update this page once the official announcement is out.

Prior to the Federal Territory Agreement, which was signed on January 28, 1974, Kuala Lumpur was a part of Selangor state. It wasn’t until February 1st, four days later, that the agreement came into force. On May 17, 1984, Labuan was acquired from Sabah State to become the second federal territory, and on February 1, 2001, Putrajaya was bought from Selangor State to become the third federal territory.

This will close in 0 seconds

Finest Services